November 13, 2014

The Hollywood Post Alliance Honors Technicolor Talent

The winners of the 9th annual Hollywood Post Alliance Awards were announced and Technicolor is thrilled that three of our talented employees took home awards for their outstanding contributions in post-production.


Technicolor’s senior colorist Steven J. Scott won the HPA Award for ‘Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film’ for his DI work on Gravity. This is Steven’s fifth HPA award win in the ‘Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film’ category, following wins for The Help (2011), Julie & Julia (2009), Iron Man (2008), and The Illusionist (2006). “It was a great privilege to work with two of the great artists of our time, Chivo and Alfonso, and it’s always an honor to be acknowledged by one’s peers. I’m humbled and grateful,” Scott noted.

Technicolor engineers Joshua Pines and David Register also received an award - the ‘HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production’ for their involvement in the American Society of Cinematographers: Color Decision List (ASC CDL). David and Joshua were also honored with the 2013 Technical Achievement Sci-Tech Award for their work on the ASC CDL.

"The ASC CDL represents a collaborative effort between various post facilities, equipment and software vendors, directors of photography, on- set support technicians, and zillions of others,” Pines explains. “So many of us came together to work on a solution that works across industry boundaries, and an even larger number have embraced the ASC CDL in their production workflows. We're very honored to be recognized by the Hollywood Post Alliance."

The HPA Awards honor the individuals who work in the post-production of films, television, and commercials, who help to create extraordinary cinematic experiences for audiences around the globe. The award categories include Creative Craft, Engineering Excellence, and the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation.

Technicolor congratulates Steven, Joshua, David and all the 2014 HPA Awards winners and nominees.

Photos courtesy of: Capture Imaging/Ryan Miller