September 29, 2017

Technicolor, MPC, & The Mill See HPA Nominations Rise to 11

The HPA Awards recognize those who “bring compelling content to a global audience” through their outstanding work and artistry in a wide range of creative categories.

  • The Technicolor family increased their HPA nomination count to eleven this year, including Outstanding Color Grading, Sound, and Visual Effects.
  • Technicolor’s Steve Scott won the HPA Award last year for color grading on the Oscar-winning film, The Revenant.

Technicolor, MPC, and The Mill talent have been nominated for a total of eleven 2017 HPA Awards announced by the Hollywood Professional Association this year. The HPA Awards support creative artistry in the field of post-production and recognize the achievements of talent, innovation, and engineering excellence across the larger professional media content industry.

Look for the winners to be announced at the 12th Annual HPA Awards ceremony held on November 16 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. Congratulations go out to all of this year’s HPA nominees:


Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

The Birth of a Nation
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor – Hollywood

Ghost in the Shell
Michael Hatzer // Technicolor – Hollywood

Doctor Strange
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor – Hollywood

Michael Hatzer // Technicolor – Hollywood


Outstanding Color Grading – Television

The Last Tycoon – “Burying the Boy Genius”
Timothy Vincent // Technicolor – Hollywood

The Man in the High Castle – “Detonation”
Roy Vasich // Technicolor


Outstanding Sound – Television

Stranger Things – “Chapter 8: The Upside Down”
Craig Henigham // FOX
Brad North, Joe Barnett, Adam Jenkins, Jordan Wilby, Tiffany Griffith // Technicolor – Hollywood

American Gods – “The Bone Orchard”
Bradley North, Joseph DeAngelis, Kenneth Kobett, David Werntz, Tiffany S. Griffith // Technicolor


Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales
Gary Brozenich, Sheldon Stopsack, Patrick Ledda, Richard Clegg, Richard Little // MPC

Ghost in the Shell
Guillaume Rocheron, Axel Bonami, Arundi Asregadoo, Pier Lefebvre, Ruslan Borysov // MPC


Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

Kia – “Hero’s Journey”
Robert Sethi, Chris Knight, Tom Graham, Jason Bergman // The Mill


Visit the Hollywood Professional Association for the official announcement and full list of outstanding nominees.

By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies. When placed on your device, cookies enable site visit statistics to be collected and services to be better adapted to your needs, such as language preferences. For more information and to configure cookies, click here.